ensemble LUX © Andrej Grilc
Vielfalt der Moderne
ensemble LUX
Arnold Schönberg Center
Wednesday, 19 April 2023
6.30 pm
ensemble LUX © Andrej Grilc

ensemble LUX
   Louise Chisson violin
   Thomas Wally violin
   Nora Romanoff-Schwarzberg viola
   Mara Achleitner violoncello

Erwin SCHULHOFF Fünf Stücke für Streichquartett
Luna ALCALAY relatif à la sonorité für Streichtrio
Arnold SCHÖNBERG String Quartet No. 3, op. 30

Tickets € 14 | Free admission for persons under 26 years
Online reservation

Ensemble LUX allows us to anticipate the rich discoveries that lie in store for us in the music of the 20th century. While the quartet movements by Erwin Schulhoff published in 1925 are based on fashionable, contemporary dances of that era, the Trio composed almost 75 years later by Luna Alcalay, who died in Vienna in 2012, takes us into sound worlds full of beauty and energy. Arnold Schönberg’s String Quartet No. 3 serves as an anchor point here: bound to the classical tradition, while uncompromisingly modern in its sound.

The concert will be streamed live on facebook and YouTube and will be available seven days after the concert.