Luisa Sello, Bruno Canino © Luca A. d'Agostino
Auf den Spuren der Wiener Klassik
Luisa Sello, Bruno Canino
Arnold Schönberg Center
Thursday, 13 April 2023
6.30 pm
Luisa Sello, Bruno Canino © Luca A. d'Agostino

Luisa Sello flute
Bruno Canino

Arnold SCHÖNBERG Sonate für Flöte und Klavier nach dem Bläserquintett op. 26 (arr. Felix Greissle)
Petr EBEN Sonatina semplice for flute and piano
Ernst KRENEK Suite for flute and piano op. 147
Emil František BURIAN Ztracené Serenády
Rainer BISCHOF Pierrot II für Flöte solo

Free admission | Online reservation

Renowned flutist Luisa Sello is partnered on the piano by Bruno Canino for a varied program. Schönberg’s Sonate is an arrangement of the famous Wind Quintet, op. 26 in which the composer brought the twelve-tone method and the formal canon of Viennese Classicism closer together. Listeners and performers alike find this expansive work equally demanding and rewarding. It is brightly contrasted by the short cycles by Krenek through to Eben.

5.30 pm: Curator’s tour with Eike Feß
through the exhibition “Composition with Twelve Tones. Schönberg’s Reorganization of Music” (reservation required)

The concert will be streamed live on facebook and YouTube and will be available seven days after the concert.